Posted in .

ADL Recognizes 76 New York Area Schools as “No Place For Hate®” After Promoting Culture of Respect and Understanding

  • May 28, 2014

New York, NY, May 28, 2014… The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) has designated 76 New York area schools across the five boroughs, upstate, Westchester, Long Island and New Jersey as “No Place For Hate®.” The schools were recognized for creating safe learning environments, bringing awareness to the issues of bullying and bias, and promoting unity and respect.

The 76 schools were recognized during a ceremony at The Skirball Center for Performing Arts in Manhattan on May 21.

No Place For Hate, an ADL initiative offering students, teachers, administrators and family members the opportunity to work together to enhance a culture of respect in the school community, encourages schools to complete various activities and projects to promote unity and reduce bullying, name-calling and other expressions of bias.

“It was truly an emotional experience to see first-hand the tremendous passion for this program from the students,” said Gregg M. Mashberg, ADL New York Regional Board Chair.  “It was incredible to hear the stories from the students of how stereotypes, name-calling, jokes and bullying escalated to hate, and how No Place For Hate served as part of the solution.”

Evan R. Bernstein, ADL New York Regional Director, added, “The sheer enthusiasm from the students and teachers about this initiative and their excitement at the ceremony shows us that the program makes a direct impact on the environment in the classroom.”

The ceremony included several speakers from ADL including National Director Abraham H. Foxman, Ambassador Daniele D. Bodini, the Permanent Representative of the Republic of San Marino to the United Nations, and Ernest Logan, President of the Council for School Supervisors and Administrators.

Students from the Brooklyn International High School, and Hyde Leadership Charter School in the Bronx, along with educators from P.S. 72 – The Bridge to Success school in the Bronx – were honored with the ADL Alexander Bodini Prize for Diversity for going above and beyond in making their schools “No Place For Hate.”

Dr. Charlotte Frank, Senior Vice President of McGraw-Hill, was presented with the League’s Making a Difference Award for her tireless education work in New York.

Since its inception in 1999, No Place for Hate® has directly reached over 3.5 million people and is currently active in more than 1,500 schools and communities nationwide.


Schools Awarded by Region:


Abraham Lincoln High School

Brooklyn International High School

Khalil Gibran International Academy

P.S./IS 109

Brooklyn Studio Secondary School

Leif Ericson Day School

Prospect Heights Campus

P.S. 235 Janice Marie Knight School

Saint Agatha School

The Math & Science Exploratory School



Creston Academy C.A.R.E MS 447

Harry S Truman High School

Hyde Leadership Charter School, K-8

Jonas Bronck Academy

P.S. 72 The Bridge to Success

P.S. 176X

P.S./M.S. 279

Urban Assesmbly Academy

Bronx Career & College Preparatory High School

High School of Computers and Technology

PS 8

P.S. 11 The Highbridge School

P.S. 73 SCAN After-School Program

P.S. 126 Majorie Dunbar Elementary School



The Paula Hedbavny School  PS/MS 278

High School of Hospitality Management

High School of Fashion Industries

Manhattan Center for Science and Mathematics

Stuyvesant High School

The Duke Ellington School PS 4



Irwin Altman Middle School 172

P.S. 36Q The St. Albans School

P.S. 154

P.S.255 @ P.S. 154

Queens High School for the Sciences at York College

Richmond Hill High School

The Lynn Gross Discovery School PS 175Q

P.S. 193 Alfred J Kennedy

P.S. 161Q Arthur Ashe Jr. School

The Bayside School


Staten Island:

Curtis High School

P.S. 22 The Graniteville School

Staten Island Technical High School

Tottenville High School

IS 72 The Police Officer Rocco Laurie Intermediate School


Long Island:

Woodland Middle School

Jerusalem Avenue Elementary School

WC Mepham High School

Suffolk Y JCC


Westchester & Upstate:

Algonquin Middle School

Ballston Spa High School

Bishop Grimes

Burnt Hills – Ballston Lake High School

Canisius High School

Doane Stuart School

Fred W. Hill School

Malta Avenue Elementary School


Schenectady High School

Shatekon Elementary

The Washington Street Teaching and Learning Center

Watervliet Jr-Sr High School

William B. Tecler Elementary School


Greenville School

New Rochelle High School

Rye Neck Middle School

Edgemont Junior-Senior High School

Grover Cleveland High School

Springhurst Elementary School

Thomas Edison Elementary School


New Jersey:

Freehold Township High School

Somerset County Educational Services Commission

Yeshivat Noam


The Anti-Defamation League, founded in 1913, is the world’s leading organization fighting anti-Semitism through programs and services that counteract hatred, prejudice and bigotry.  Follow us on Twitter: @ADL_NY