Posted in .

Board Members and Community Partners Gather at 2017 ADL New York Region Annual Meeting

  • June 23, 2017

On June 20, 2017, ADL New York Region held its Annual Meeting at the Jewish Museum with over 150 leaders, supporters, and community partners. The evening was an opportunity to honor outgoing Board Chair Andrew Frackman for his dedicated service and welcome incoming leadership, including Jason Halper as 2017-2019 Board Chair and Steve Fineman as Vice Chair. The 2016-2017 Glass Leadership  Institute class was also recognized for their completion of the program and entry into the ADL New York leadership community.

The 2017 Glass Leadership Institute Graduates

The 2017 Glass Leadership Institute Graduates

NYPD Commissioner James P. O’Neill delivered this year’s keynote address about the changes and developments in policing and public safety in New York City.  The Commissioner’s impactful remarks offered an honest and accessible glimpse into the challenges the NYPD faces in keeping all New Yorkers safe.

ADL New York Regional Director Evan Bernstein followed by underscoring ADL’s immense appreciation for the NYPD and the growing strength of our partnership. Bernstein also reflected upon the challenges society has faced over the past, and ADL’s responsibility to address those challenges head on.

“Our job is to transform the challenges into opportunities for education, for collaboration and for action. Under strong regional and national leadership, ADL will continue to double down in responding to all challenges:  we will continue to work within and outside our Jewish community, with elected officials, with law enforcement, with our schools and with our interfaith partners. We will continue to do everything we can as a region to push back on all forms of hate and ensure that we continue to stop the defamation of the Jewish people and secure Justice and fair treatment for all,” Bernstein said.

The evening concluded with a presentation of the Edward  Brodsky Founders Award to FrankfurKurnit Klein & Selz PC for the firms valued collaboration ith ADL on amicus briefs and the Future is Now Award to Amy Eisen Bakst for her outstanding leadership with the Next Generation Philanthropy Community.

ADL is deeply grateful for the commitment of our supporters, and looks forward to growing the impact of the New York Region under our new leadership.